MusicWeb International Recordings of the Year announced!

‘The Songs of Muriel Herbert' has been named one of the Recordings of the Year on MusicWeb International.

This is the seventh year that the website, which offers readers a comprehensive selection of reviews of the latest classical and jazz reviews, has asked reviewers to nominate their favourite recordings of the year. The reviewers may choose from any recording that has been reviewed between December 2008 and November 2009 - that's a choice of 2,233 recordings!

The recording of previously unreleased songs by Muriel Herbert features performances by Ailish Tynan, James Gilchrist and David Owen Norris. Patrick Waller, in his selection of his favourites of 2009, said of ‘Songs of Muriel Herbert': "this music is a major discovery...Full marks to all three performers, and to Linn".

Congratulations to Ailish, James and David!

To read the full list of Recordings of the Year please click here.